Sunday, July 13, 2008

Hyperion Licensing Information

for hyperion essbase pricing policy, you can refer to the Oracle Price List
This document is for general purpose.
My main motto behind writing this post is to throw some light on types of licensing policies of softwares.
Before some time there was lot of confusion about the types of licenses. Let me explain them.
1. Named User License:
A named user license allows the software to be used by one specific user named when you purchase the software. Named user licenses may be installed on multiple computers but they may only be accessed by the named user, they may not be shared in any way. A named user license may not be used at the same time on different computers.
It can also be defined as an individual authorized by you to use the programs which are installed on a single server or multiple servers, regardless of whether the individual is actively using the programs at any given time. A non human operated device will be counted as a named user plus in addition to all individuals authorized to use the programs, if such devices can access the programs.
2. Concurrent user license or Floating user license:
A floating user license, sometimes known as a concurrent user license, allows the software to be used by more than one user at the same site but limits the number of simultaneous users to the number of licenses purchased.
For example, three floating user licenses permit three users to access the software at the same time. A fourth user must wait until one of the current users exits the software before they may use the software. A floating user license is sometimes called a concurrent or shared license. Floating user licenses should be purchased for any installation where multiple users may access the software on the same computer such as a build server.
3. Processor based license:
This is defined as the number or procesors where the software is installed and running. The number of cores and core processor licensing factor which generally ranges from 0.25 to 0.75 also decides the number of processors to be considered for licensing.
For example, an XYZ server installed and/or running the program on 6 cores and having core processor licensing factor of .25 would require 2 processor licenses (6 multiplied by a core processor licensing factor of .25 equals 1.50 which is then rounded up to the next whole number which is 2).
There are some other types of licensing terms but only these are used mostly.

No comments: